Beauty Tuesdays: New Skincare Discovery Finding BHA Salicylic Acid in Drugstores

My skin has been terribly dry with stubborn bumps and whiteheads that just wont go away ='( Ironically, back home in Singapore I’ve always taken my skin for granted. So long as my complexion was clear, I’d think that it was good enough! Besides using moisturizer and sunblock in the day, I basically did nothing at all with my face. Now that I’m away from the humid climate back home.. My dry skin is rebelling and taunting me for not keeping it hydrated enough. I can’t seem to find any of the hydrating cotton masks I have back home so I only get the mud masks and peeloff ones. Sad.

Due to this skin problem of mine becoming almost an obsession, I search the net daily to find out what would work to help me clear up my skin. I found quite a few things, but as usual, not all products work for everyone’s skin type. So I’m currently trying out these products and thought that I might share some of these new discoveries with you guys so that you can try too! I got most of my information from The Cosmetics Cops Website.

The first of these would be… BHA! Beta Hydroxy Acid is also known more commonly as Salicylic Acid (a type of BHA) in most skincare products, which I did not know of at all! I thought that you would need to get a dermatologist to prescribe you with BHA, not knowing that most drugstore brands carry them too! 3 main brands: Clearasil, Neutrogena and Clean&Clear carries many products with Salicylic Acid, just turn the bottle and check the ingredients list!

From what I’ve been reading online from various websites, all those small tiny stubborn bumps preventing you from having that desired smooth cheek can only be removed by using something to clean it from inside the pores. Hence, no matter how matter exfoliating face washes you use, it probably won’t work unless you physically squeeze those whiteheads out yourself. While it does work, in the long run, you would probably break a few tiny capillaries every time you do that. Not desirable. So to get rid of those stubborn whiteheads, you’ll need either a BHA or AHA exfoliant.

The difference between AHA and BHA is that BHA is lipid soluble. Hence, it can get right down into your pores and unclog all the oil that has accumulated in there. As BHA can penetrate into your pores, it is especially good for people with persistent blackheads, acne and oily skin. If you have dry skin like I do, but have white and/or blackhead problems, BHA is also a good exfoliant to use, helping to stimulate the production of collagen, making your skin look and feel better! AHA exfoliates the top layer of your skin, making it great for sun damaged and dry skin. It won’t help blemishes, but evens out skin tone and texture. If you have sensitive skin, BHA is also less irritating than AHA.

Honestly, if your main concern is dry and aging skin, you might want to try something less harsh such as bio oil, extra virgin olive oil, or jojoba oil!

Here’s the important part! Finding BHA products in drugstores!

When searching for affordable BHA products in the drugstore, look for products such as lotions, toners and gels as opposed to facial scrubs or washes. Face washes with BHA isn’t effective either as in order for BHA to work, it needs to sink and soak into your skin. Also, BHA works better at lower concentrations, hence look for the product listings of Salicylic Acid in the middle or near the bottom of the list of ingredients. Honestly, I spent hours just standing at the aisle having no clue at all what I was looking for. Ha, though I pretended like I knew what I was searching for heh. It can be insanely confusing because there are just so many products and no product tells you the pH level or the percentage of BHA in the product! So you would probably end up buying something that is not that awesome. Like I did. Humph. And wasted money on Clearasil Pore Cleansing Pads that are ineffective as reviewed here.

BUT! I just discovered this wonderful website as well as iphone app that can help you choose what you need and tell you whether or not a product is good. I just found out about it! Its Beautypedia and it provides the most easy-to-understand and amazing information! Its by Paula Begoun from Paula’s Choice. Its like the Makeupalley of skincare and beauty products. Absolutely amazing! If you have yet to check out these two websites, I highly recommend them as an absolute MUST HAVE when you’re looking for beauty products!

I have massively large pores around my nose and cheeks area under my eyes. I get so annoyed with them as no matter how much foundation I buff in, it simply doesn’t go away! I have been using the Clearasil Daily Clear Pore Cleansing Pads for about 3-4 days, and I think it is a little harsh for my skin. My cheeks get a little red and irritated and it really stings! Im going to have to look for something else and this time I’ll have the handy beautypedia app with me to help me make a better choice! Though the Clearasil wasn’t great at all, I’m real pleased with the  Neutrogena Visibly Clear Rapid Clear Treatment I just bought yesterday for my red spots due to the time of the month and it worked amazingly! Though it may be too soon to judge, this product is pretty effective!

As of now that’s all I have for you! I’ll be updating with reports on how the products worked for me! If you’ve ever used these products too, do share with me how they turned out for you! =)

I hope this little BHA guide helped you understand what it’s all about!

Have a lovely week!

Ta for now! Love,

Sianne

What do you think? love, Sianne

