Review: Sunkissed Eye Shadow Compact, Urban Decay Naked Dupe???

Sticking to my theme of budget bargain makeup this month, I happened to come across this brand called Sunkissed at Saver’s while shopping in Southampton. I thought the packaging was really sleek and compact, perfect for travelling, but was a little dubious about the quality of the makeup as I’ve never heard of this brand before. However, the entire palette of 12 shimmering colours retailed at about £2.50, so my itchy fingers couldn’t resist picking them up! Unfortunately, at the store, I was unable to actually swatch them to see the pigmentation, but, I did a quick search online for any reviews and found 1 or 2. Since some people seemed to like it, I decided oh why not? I ripped off the packaging once I got home and I was thrilled to test out the pigmentation of it! So here goes..

The colours remind me of my favourite colours from the Urban Decay Naked 1 and 2 palettes in one simple sleek compact, I think that’s really what I love so much about it!

These colours are pretty lovely, while it doesn’t have Urban Decay’s wonderful pigmentation, I do feel that it is really worth the money and perfect for beginner kits. Sometimes, with the extremely pigmented shadows in my unexperienced hands, I feel like I don’t have as much control and end up looking like a clown with too much eye makeup on. This gives the perfect balance between extremely pigmented shadows and those that give nothing at all. They apply easily, and while they do not have the depth and dimension that Urban Decay Naked palettes have, I find myself reaching for this palette whenever I want a quick eyemakeup look like today!

Also, since these are much cheaper than Urban Decay, I would feel ‘safer’ bringing them along for travels as I don’t want to spend too much time doing my makeup in the morning, and especially when backpacking and travelling light, I’m always worried that my pricer eye shadows will get ruined! Hence, I will probably leave them back home and travel with this compact instead. The shades really are quite beautiful and I love the packaging so I definitely recommend this palette for those of you on a budget! Even for those of you who aren’t, it’s such a cute addition to your makeup collection!

I recently found out that a beauty shop in Westfield carries these, they sell LA Colours nailpolish and eyemakeup for really cheap as well. I can’t remember the name for the life of me, but I do know it’s one the ground floor somewhere opposite the store Menkind and next to Clinton Cards!

Online, you can get it from Very, but I think the prices there are a rip off! Geez. Amazon.co.uk sells them at a much better price, but there is shipping to be added to that. Park Cosmetics sell them too at a reasonable price.

Here’s my look of the day using the sunkissed palette, my boyfriend loves this look, he prefers natural makeup as do lots of my other guy friends, so this has gotten the boyfriend approval stamp! How can I not love it? ^^

The difference is really subtle, just a healthy more awake kind of glow, perfect for summer! What do you think? Do you guys like this natural kind of makeup? Or more glamourous kind? Let me know in the comments below! I personally like natural =)

All in all, for £2.50, I think this is absolutely worth it, and I think this will be making an appearance in my monthly favourites soon!

check out my instagram @brushesandbelle for daily armcandy/casual fashion, and random whimsical photos!

Have a lovely weekend!

Ta for now! Love,

Sianne

What do you think? love, Sianne

