Review: Maybelline Volume Express Waterproof Falsies Mascara

I’ve been moping around whining about the lack of variety of drugstore products in Singapore and being grumpy about how it just utterly kills the mood for makeup browsing. I’ve been spoilt for choice in Boots and Superdrug, and coming back home to see only half the amount of product variety on the shelves makes me miss London even more! Hence my turn of focus to Asian products and the huge Gmarket store that I can’t find in UK.

I find the drugstore products here unreasonably expensive as compared to overseas hence I steer away from them even though they call out to me from the sparkling and pretty shelves. However, there has been one little product that I have still been wanting to try out and I coincidentally received it from my friend! You can imagine how excited I was =D

It definitely makes my miserably sparse lashes look a lot fuller and glamourous!

In our little hot and humid Asian country, the name of this mascara sounds extremely appealing. Let’s go through the checklist to see whether this product is as wonderful as it really sounds!

Firstly, I must say that you must give this mascara TIME. The initial applications can look pretty blah and normal, but I’ve come to realise that, as with most Maybelline mascaras, it functions the best about one month into its usage when the formula becomes a little drier.

Volume: Initially, it looks as wet as most mascaras, hence, it doesn’t really volumize. It is definitely visable, but not that special yet. Applying a light coat and waiting for it to dry before adding another really makes a difference!

Falsies effect: Which Asian girl doesn’t want that? Wait, which girl doesn’t want that actually? Most Asians have pretty sparse lashes and if you’re Asian and you have lovely voluminous lashes, well.. you’re the envy of many I’m sure =D While it initially does, I think that the formula is a little too wet initially and it doesn’t hold up the curl as well as I would like it to. By the end of the day, my lashes drooped. But after a longer period of usage, and slight drying of the formula, it works like a dream!

Waterproof: It definitely is. Well, if it didn’t it would be an immediate disappointment for me! Especially in this hot and humid city where no face primer works well enough to prevent sebum and perspiration from seeping through,smudging and panda eyes will occur without a waterproof mascara!

So you can see here that it really volumizes my lashes and holds them up nicely, though I did curl them before applying mascara. Clumping wise it doesn’t really clump unless you’re impatient and apply a few coats before each coat is dry.

I love that the brush is big actually. I know some people find it annoying, but I like it because it naturally gives more volume with bigger brushes. With some bigger brushes, it tends to smudge onto the eyelids which can be extremely annoying. This smudges a little as you can see in the picture below, but it was probably because I wasn’t cautious at all. Usually when I take care to ensure no smudging occurs, this mascara works perfectly!

This mascara is perfect for blending in with nice natural looking false lashes that makes your eye pop. I love using dollywink lashes with this, it’s such a naturally luscious combination!

Well, I have come to a conclusion that I generally love Maybelline mascaras. They work the best for me and not a single one has disappointed me yet! I can’t wait to try out what they next come up with! So far, this is my favourite Maybelline mascara, seems like they just keep getting better and better!

What do you think? Have you tried this? What’s your favourite Maybelline mascara or product? Do let me know in the comment bubble above! I’d love to try them out =D

Stay happy and gorgeous!

Love,

Sianne

What do you think? love, Sianne

